Disable IE Download Warning

Chuck writes, I’m running Windows XP Pro and using Internet Explorer 6. When I try to download something I get a message about (50% of the time) do I want to okay the download and there is a new toolbar message at the top of the browser window that I have to right click and tell it to do the download. Is there some setting in IE 6 that I need to change?
This behavior was added in the Service Pack 2 update to Windows XP to help add a layer of security to the browser. In theory it helps prevent the drive-by download scenario common to spyware that attempts to install without your permission. For those of us who are careful to avoid dangerous downloads, the feature adds a certain level of annoyance to the browsing experience. If you feel comfortable in disabling this feature, IE offers a way to override the warning.

Turn Off Internet Explorer Content Advisor

Gordon writes, How do I get rid of Content Advisor in XP Pro? I started it accidentally & is a real pain on Internet.
Content Advisor is possibly one of the most poorly implemented filtering solutions available for Internet Explorer. If the password is lost you need a registry hack to get rid of the password. Disabling Content Advisor retains the password you set when it was created (or hopefully you set). If the rating system gets corrupted it causes otherwise safe sites to become inaccessible. Fortunately you can override Content Advisor if you need to.